top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBook Lover Online

REASON WHY SHOULD TRY READING THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

Updated: Dec 31, 2017

Some books made me laugh, understand about love, sacrifice and trust for others. they indeed thrilled me, but none in my life, they have made me cry or made me see that in-room swallowed by darkness there is always small space for light.The Fault in our stars. Some people think that the author ran out craziness. But not me, it changed me. I fell for it. I cried for it. I understood that pain, grief and happiness open and close our door.


Hazel Grace Lancaster, an exceptional seventeen-year-old girl was diagnosed with Stage 4 Thyroid cancer with metastasis forming in her lungs but has managed to live with her disease convincing herself to live for today. In this book there are many instances that made me cry and helped me push out the masquerade, to see the world....


Apparently, the world is not a wish-granting factory.

How many times have you heard, "but it's not fair!" from someone in your life? The Fault in Our Stars doesn't put it gently: Guess what, the world isn't fair. If you're playing along thinking it'll be fair, you have been swamped out by an illusion. But there's still hope.


Even cancer isn't a bad guy really: Cancer just wants to be alive.

Every step of the voyage, Augustus and Hazel's plans were foiled. Their trip to Amsterdam to meet their favourite author, a.k.a Peter Van Houten; the rollercoasters of their life. But ultimately, this isn't always a bad thing, and it's a tough lesson to learn for everyone. No matter how much you plan ahead, the universe doesn't have the rule to copy your diary.


And only now that I loved a grenade did I understand the foolishness of trying to save others from my own impending fragmentation.

Hazel spends so much of her life in a self-imposed bubble, pretending everything is fine to protect those around her. But this is the wrong idea, and she learns it. Your friends and family are put here to help you, to engage with them. Speak your fears, as Augustus does, and cry it out, You don't always have to put up a facade; let others in to help when you're going through something.


"So what's your story?" he asked, sitting down next to me at a safe distance.
"I already told you my story. I was diagnosed when—"
"No, not your cancer story. Your story. Interests, hobbies, passions, weird fetishes, etcetera."

For others who are struggling with the same diagnosis or congenital disease, it can truly teach us all to remember that, while an illness becomes a piece of who you are, it does not define you. And you know what? You can do this.


There are so many people in this world that it is almost impossible to touch all, even to touch half. She encourages us to ignore the inevitability of oblivion for it will come no matter what. Each one of you is important and whether you make an impact on one person or one thousand people, you will make a difference. You are important, don't you forget that. It's okay to be loved deeply instead of widely. Some people would even argue that it's better.


What could be a better lesson than reminding us that our actions and words have a deep-seated an impact on people's lives, for better or for worse? As Hazel said, and as Gus learned, you don't have to be world famous, the best kind of love is to be a good person and a good friend. And in the end, that's what will make the difference, not our bubble reputation.


"I was blind and heartbroken and didn't want to do anything and Gus burst into my room and shouted, "I have wonderful news!" And I was like, "I don't really want to hear wonderful news right now," and Gus said, "This is wonderful news you want to hear," and I asked him, "Fine, what is it?" and he said, "You are going to live a good and long life filled with great and terrible moments that you cannot even imagine yet!"

The Fault in our Stars is an aide-memoire that, even when you're a teenager, you are not immortal. Live for cause and died for a cause, but not with a cause. With that in mind, get out there in the world and experience the symphony of life. Love, laugh, live. Appreciate the small moments. Because you never know what the world was coming to you.


some infinities are bigger than other infinities meaning

Hazel spoke an excellent piece of work during the eulogy where she briefs up n that there are infinite numbers between 0 and 1 and definitely a 'bigger' infinite between 0 and 2. Metaphorically, this could mean that happiness can be found in small things, smaller infinities. Many manage to get the bigger infinities, but happiness is found everywhere.


"I fear oblivion," he said without a moment's pause. "I fear it like the proverbial blind man who's afraid of the dark."

Never fear oblivion. There will come a time, where the scorching heat of the sunburst at us, where, all of us are dead. All of us. There will come a time when there are no human beings remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you. Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought and discovered will be forgotten and all of this will have been for nought. There was time before organisms experienced consciousness, and there will be time after.


The weird thing about houses is that they almost always look like nothing is happening inside of them, even though they contain most of our lives. I wondered if that was sort of the point of architecture.

You never quite know the struggles the people around you are going through. Don't be cruel Everyone you meet is fighting their own battles


With such instances, I say this created impact on me. As Hazel carry An Imperial Affliction everywhere and recited the quotes by her heart. I carry them by my side and recited every quote of The Fault in our stars which changed me.


Hey guys,thanks for catching uo this post. Hope, it creates the pat to read TFIOS. Remember to comment.

Thank You,

Book Lover Online




41 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
IT’S YOUR STORY
bottom of page